This is an easy gotcha to run into. Let’s say for example that you’ve just meticulously selected all 60 image thumbnails on one page of the All Images view with the intention of adding them to an album. You plan to select more on the next page. So you click next and see the next page of thumbnails. Poof! Your full page of selections is now unselected. You have no way to know this of course. I would suggest two possible remedies. Or maybe both.
First, you could throw up a message box like this:
Want to unselect all of these before moving to another page?
[Yes, unselect] [No, stay here]
Second, you could retain the full selection in the page’s state. The downside is that the user cannot see the prior selections of course. But one remedy would be to add an indicator on the top and/or bottom of the grid: “28 images selected”. This would be generally useful anyway.
Note. This problem of lost selections also applies to the product manager. And the media images manager. And probably other list-oriented management tools.
Some confirmation speedbump or ability to work across grid pages would be great. Cheers.