My chat shows the red new message icon. When I click on it, it is a message from Zazzle saying ‘tell us more about yourself’ and a space to fill in my name and a checkbox next to a message that says ‘Yes! I’d like to receive exclusive Zazzle deals, discounts and updates on new products’.
Whether I check or uncheck that box and hit continue, it takes me to the same screen asking for a phone number to ‘keep your account secure’. If I choose ‘skip’ I just end up back at square one with my chat showing a red ‘new’ message icon that I can’t get rid of. It appears to be trying to force me to give a phone number.
I have a customer who contacted me via chat this morning regarding a request and I replied to that and was waiting to hear back from them to clarify what they were asking me to do. I can’t enter my chat now though apparently without providing a phone number.
When I check on my Brave Browser the tactic was a bit different. There it showed that I had a new message in chat too, but when I clicked on that a pop up message said it needs my phone number to verify my account (even though I obviously had to enter a password to log in to my account which should be verification enough).
Hi, did you get a chat message from a customer that preceded it or did it come out of the blue? I am just wondering if getting the message from the customer and responding to them triggered it
My concern here is that asking for a phone number was in conjunction with the little checkbox saying ‘Yes! I’d like to receive exclusive Zazzle deals, discounts and updates on new products’. I do not want to receive telemarketing calls.
No, until I inserted the number, it didn’t disappear. I inserted the phone number, and then I received the code on the phone, I inserted the code, and it said: “thank you for your support” and let me access the chat. I think I shouldn’t give the number… The message came from a new user - I blocked it anyway
I got several messages today which I answered as usual and had no problems. Then 20 minutes ago I got the notification for another message from a Zazzle user called Helen Sullivan. I can see a little bit of the initial part of their message and seems like a real customer’s message, but I can access the rest of the message as the following pop-up message appears:
I also tried accessing the message through the email Zazzle sent me notifying me of a new message. Unfortunately the same “let’s verify your account” pop-up message appears once I click on the “view message on Zazzle” button.
That is the same message I saw using my Brave Browser. On Google I got a different version that said ‘tell us more about yourself’ followed by a checkbox with ‘Yes! I’d like to receive exclusive Zazzle deals, discounts and updates on new products’.
With your example, it appears we cannot reply to a legit customer without entering a phone number there?
Exactly. But the message to verify the account looked like coming from Zazzle, not from the customer; and the text message with the verification code on the phone came from Zazzle 1836
I just logged out of Zazzle. Turned off my computer. Logged in again and my message icon seems empty. It no longer shows I have a message waiting. Nevertheless, when I click on the message icon the “Welcome to Zazzle, tell us more about yourself” message appears.
Why would Zazzle need me to tell them more about myself if I’m already logged into my account, therefore they know it’s me, and they already know all my shop details!
I just checked and the email notifying me of the new message came from the same "Zazzle Inc: Zazzle@tn.send.zazzle.com" email account which usually sends the message notification emails!
I’m not giving out my phone number until a Zazzle moderator confirms this is not a scam…Has Zazzle been hacked?
When you enter your phone number they text you a verification code, you have to enter that code in order to enter the chat. Pretty sure they’re trying to cut down on chat spams & scams, but they should have made an announcement about this before implementing it. There’s also some question about whether it can remember your device or not - it really needs to be able to do that IMHO.
Looks like I posted this thread only 2 minutes before that thread so we were basically posting about the same thing, same time. I don’t give out my cell number. Zazzle has my land line number already. I am wondering if this is a mistake and meant for customers only?
Maybe the system is not distinguishing between designer and customer by some mistake? It would make more sense if the intent was to curtail spam in chat by making the ‘customer’ give a cell number and enter a code. Because as you said, it makes no sense that Zazzle would need the designer to tell them more about themselves!