I noticed that if a customer is having a hard time with editing my design in the backend, there are helpers on Zazzle that can download the my layered design to the helpers computer and then the helper will load it into Photo Shop or Affinity Photo etc software to manipulate… and then upload it for the customer to purchase.
Both the downloads and uploads will be in full resolution.
There are so many times that I would love to download my layered in progress full resolution design, make some changes with my software…and then upload it up again.
* Can someone please tell me how to do for myself what the the helpers can do.
Download…modify…and upload the layered full original resolution file for further modifications if desired.
There is no way for Creators (formerly Designers) to do this presently. As non-employees of Zazzle. You can though accept an invitation from the customer to modify their design via the existing system.
Seriously? this can happen? How is this Not a copyright/privacy issue? Maybe I am not understanding this - So, any designer other than myself AND customers will have the ability to have MY designs on their computers in Their art programs to modify and reupload ? This canNOT possibly be correct. Where is the Opt OUT for this? I Must not understand this properly
They are copyright issues that may prevent one of us having this feature. As an example the background elements would not be available to us to download nor icons etc.
I don’t remember the name of it, but designers on Z can earn some pay for helping customers.
I remember heated discussions about this in the old forum.
Basically they download to their photoshop for the customer…make the changes…and upload back up…and the question of helper promising not to do bad things was the only protection offered.
I cannot reference the threads because they are gone.
Until a few days ago, whenever I was working on a design, a little image call to action of a blonde lady offering to help for Free was in the lower right area next to the preview panel.
In fact, I had to keep x’ing her out because I was not a customer who needed help.
Today is the first day that I don’t see her.. however I am not designing today either.
there are helpers on Zazzle that can download the my layered design to the helpers computer and then the helper will load it into Photo Shop or Affinity Photo etc software to manipulate… and then upload it for the customer
I thought that “helpers” could download a customer’s images, tweak them however requested, and then add them back to the Design Tool to edit or work up a design from there. But you’re saying they have the ability to download a file that somehow includes not just the customer’s images, but all the layers of elements that can be added only via the DT, and also the positioning of said etc? I didn’t know that was even technically possible.
There are so many times that I would love to download my layered in progress full resolution design, make some changes with my software…and then upload it up again.
* Can someone please tell me how to do for myself what the the helpers can do.
Download…modify…and upload the layered full original resolution file for further modifications if desired.
Have you checked out Zazzle’s Adobe Design to Print plug-in for Photoshop?
If I am not mistaken this was covered in the terms of the LIVE designers… who are supposed to have signed an agreement to delete any downloads made during a LIVE session.
There is a clause in the Zazzle TOS that covers this. You can read it Here
Look under section 1. b. for the specific part I am referring to.
That’s how I understood it. I could be wrong ?But I recall great discontent over this.
As far as software goes, I have Affinity Photo. It is more powerful than my skill but it is a one time purchase…which I LOVE.
@Deb I was too and remember a drawn out thread regarding it when it was first announced, but to no avail. The TOS looks the same to me now as it did then. I agree about the opt out and especially since there is no way for us to tell if a LIVE designer has accessed our files. At the very least I think there should be a disclosure when a LIVE designer has been used on one of our designs.
@Mistica Yes, and these LIVE designers are not the same as we are. I think they are Zazzle employees and not independent designers as we are. I am not positive though since there was not a lot of clarity on the subject when it first rolled out and we protested.
This is one disadvantage to the new forums… not being able to search for old content and see what if anything was resolved on older issues like this.
Even as employees…what I am getting at…beyond the biggest issue of all is…can the layered design be imported and exported…or was this just a Z employee helping people do what we know how to do using the design tool we use daily.
Sadly I’m thinking then the only thing to do is to lock everything down - or are they still able to retrieve locked layers? I have been grouping my graphics and then locking the group hoping this may protect my desire to Not have someone download my work. Hoping it is a work around.
I am concerned also… Most purchased assets are very particular in their licensing that only the person who actually purchased the asset have the ability to change or work with them…