I’m having a weird issue in the design tool. I’ll go in to edit a product (to make a different version) and suddenly layers that I never locked (I never lock anything) are locked.
At first I thought I must just be accidentally clicking on the lock goomer (that’s a technical term), but it’s happening all the time now on all sorts of products. The thing is, it’s pretty random. Not all of the images are locked, only some. Here are a few links:
Same here. Yesterday, I tried unlocking the two layers and it only let me unlock one. I finally had to delete the locked one and re-add it back to the design so it wouldn’t be locked. Don’t know how many of my products have this issue…
I’m having the same issue. I rarely lock layers and I have specific reasons for the handful that I have locked. Yet almost everything I open has locked layers that I know I never locked. It really screws up design transfers.
Had the same thing happen and thought I was imagining things. I just did a random check of a bunch of my products and found many of them have locked layers that I know I didn’t lock.
I think I remember an announcement that said some layers would be locked and some masks would be replaced with frames during the roll-out of the design tool A-B testing. I haven’t noticed this issue because I’m not part of the A-B test. I’m still working with the older version of the design tool.
It’s hard to tell. I have designs produced before and after 8/28 with locked layers that I didn’t create, but I only started noticing the prevalence recently, within the last couple of weeks. So is it a recent error that is impacting earlier designs or did it happen on 8/28 and I just didn’t notice the issue sooner? Who knows?
Hi all, so the good news here is that these are locked , and not disabled. This was done so customers could interact with the templates/layers they needed to, seamlessly. IE. replacing images when there was a layer in front of it on one of the new versions of the product page we’re testing. However, this behavior is in line with other design tools so we don’t image it will cause too much confusion for our customers. However we are monitoring it. Let us know if you are having any trouble or blockers here and we will be happy to help.
James, how is this “good news” as you euphemistically and optimistically call it? It’s a feature and not a bug? I’m finding more and more designs with locked layers where there were none before. When you use design transfer it often completely screws up the resulting design. If it causes confusion and work for a seasoned designer, it will probably be worse for customers. This is yet another Zazzle created mess, in a long series of them, that creates more time consuming work for already frustrated designers to clean up.
I have observed locked layers in designs that have not been touched since long before August. These layers were not locked by me and were intended for customer customization.
I was referring to the fact that the customer can still interact with the layer. Would you be able to give me a product link so I can see the design transfer issue please?
Could you please clarify @James ? How can a layer that is locked be “available for interaction with the customer”, but I (as the designer) have to first unlock it in order to customize?
Some problems happen once, and another happens many times, but the best option is to contact our excellent support. I have a problem in record time, so I advise you to communicate quickly to solve the problem.