The "Edit This Design" Button

Opens up a popup window that shows previous saves for that design to choose from. The product I am working on is an address label. The only saved design that shows up for it is one where I accidently changed the text and text layout. Which, unfortunately, brings up this accidental changed version in the design editor instead of the actual finished product one. I was hoping to just copy the finished version’s design elements and paste them onto a different product type, but when the editor opens it has the accidental version loaded on the screen with no way of reverting back to the actual finished product’s design layout. I know you can go the route of transferring the design to another product, but I only need to copy and paste a few of the elements, not the whole design. Please add an option in the saved designs popup window that is for opening the “actual posted for sale” design and not just saved versions. Anyone else having these issues?

3 Likes

I’ve thought this window was confusing since they started it. You have to hit the ‘start new’ to get it to open the completed version that you are already on… which in my opinion makes no sense. I wish the entire window would go away. I’ve never wanted to use anything other than the item I’m currently on. I wish it would just open the design tool. And also not in a new tab like it is currently doing.

9 Likes

Absolutely agree. I wish when you clicked on edit this design it just took you to the design to start working on it. This popup is so annoying.

4 Likes

BTW @jophb  , Thank you so much for the information on clicking the “Start New” button.  I thought that meant to start with a new blank product. It takes me to what I need. 

3 Likes

This is another example of a feature that was implemented for shoppers but ends up being a PITA for Designers who now share the same exact design tool as shoppers. 

For a shopper, I can see how this is helpful. They probably have no idea how the site works and that they have a whole Saved Design section (or how to find it later). This feature means they can play around with customizing a design, leave the page, browse other things, even leave the site entirely. And if/when they come back to that product, they have this prompt to resume where they left off or start over. (I think the wording should be “Start Over” not “Start New”.)

I just tested this in an anon browser as a random shopper with no Z account and this feature worked even after leaving the site and returning to the product page later. Once I actually close the browser, then it doesn’t remember but that’s probably because I have the browser set to clear cookies, cache, site data, everything, on close. But I doubt most people have their usual daily browser set like that as it’s a nightmare having to login again everywhere if they do. So I can’t be sure but it might even remember after closing browser and starting new session. 

So for shoppers, I think this could be really helpful but it’s super confusing the way it’s been implemented.
This is a screenshot from me messing around as an anon shopper with no Z account.

On returning to the product page it does not matter if I click the big blue “Personalize this design” button or the 'You have 3 saved versions" text - either way I am presented with the same pop-up shown above. 

First - the text at top of window is not clear. “or start a new design from scratch”  implies you would be starting from a blank CYO to create your own design, from, you know, scratch. But what it really means is - start over from the orig version of this design as published by the Designer. You get two button choices: “Resume design” (I think that is self-evident) or “Start new” - and here again, that’s not clear, it implies you are starting your own design from scratch as mentioned at top of panel. It should say “Start over with this template” or equivalent. 

Second, regardless of which button one chooses, the result opens in a new tab. AGHHHH Incredibly confusing, now you’re in a cycle of multiple tabs opening and closing and then somehow returning to the product page to find you now have “6 Saved versions” instead of 3 … 

And if you are a random shopper who clicked through from say a Pin so don’t have a Z account, if you get a far as customizing and then clicking Save & Exit

there is no Saved Designs to go to - if you choose that option it prompts you to log-in. 

In theory I think this is super helpful for shoppers in saving their customizations for them when/if they return, but the way it’s been implemented is super confusing.
For Designers, it’s just unwanted & unnecessary. It remembers things from so far back I’m just like, I have no idea what I might have done 13 month ago when clicking to view how this design presents in the design editor, I just want to see the version I published as as it appears to customers right now and work from that. If I was intentionally working on editing it for a new design, I know I can find that work-in-progress in my Saved Designs. I don’t need this confusion on the product page. 

9 Likes

I totally agree. I think this may be a case of overthinking on the part of Zazzle’s design tool development team. There is great value in the “keep it simple” rule. Let’s get back to that, please.

2 Likes

EXACTLY – but who would ever think that “start new” would bring you back to old.  This one really needs to be fixed quickly – it is backwards logic. 

2 Likes

At least change it to ‘current design’ or something right? haha

I know right! It took me some courage the first time I hit that haha, but I knew I didn’t want any of the other versions so it didn’t seem like I had any other option.

1 Like

For sure. I’ve had I think up to 6 saved on one item, and most were from the same day, so I had no way of telling the difference even because it was so tiny. And then if I opened it again, it would make yet another saved version :exploding_head:  Totally agree on everything! Especially the new tab haha. 

1 Like

It is horrible looking at a list of saved designs with those tiny thumbnails. You can’t see the difference. I am in no way asking for them to be bigger.  I would very much like this popup window completely removed. The reason why I had accidently changed the address label in the first place was because of multiple product tabs being open from the frustrating saved designs popup and I thought I was on the right one.  Turns out I wasn’t and it saved the accidental change…

1 Like

Hi all,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback here. I have passed it on to the team.

My issue is that you now can’t get back to the product page with your edited version unless you put the thing in your cart. This means you can’t access the share dialog with the edited version - which makes it difficult to assist customers. I started a new thread about this, but I’m mentioning it here too just in case…

1 Like