We wanted to let you know that we’ve added some additional information about our upcoming instant download offering on Zazzle. You can find the news article here.
Most importantly, the deadline for opting out of this new feature is January 12th. This opt-out date is for entire stores. Once the program is launched you’ll be able to add or remove individual products as you wish.
Also in the article are links to additional information about this new feature, including a FAQ if you’re looking to review all of the basics.
You’re welcome to ask questions below, and we will do our best to provide answers in a timely manner. We may be able to answer some questions immediately, but sometimes we may need a bit of time to check in with the appropriate member of the team. It’s also possible that someone here at the office may stick around after hours and update our FAQ document with a handful of questions at once. In any event, we’ll be doing our best to ensure that everyone is able to receive clarity on this new offering.
So, Save the Date cards are not included? This strikes me as a little bit odd since all of your example images are Save the Dates. Are those considered invitations, or do we need to transfer all of our Save the Date designs to invitations in order to make them available for download?
Can I opt into Instant Downloads at a per-product or category level? As Content Creators, it is 100% your decision if you would like to participate in Instant Downloads. We have provided the Digital Migration as a one-time conveinence for Creators who want to opt-in their entire store by bulk-migrating onto eligible products. To this end, you will still have the opportunity to opt-in at a per-product as well as a per-category level using the Products Tab in Store Management Dashboard even if you decide not to take advantage of the Digital Migration.
Once the feature is launched you’ll be able to include/exclude individual products in your store backend. This action will be similar to how you can add multiple products to a store category at once, or set multiple products to Hidden status. This means that you can opt-in the store, then (once the test starts) you can select all posters and exclude them. Or, you can stay opted out, and then (once the test starts) you can include certain products of your choosing.
I look forward to seeing the digital downloads, but there are a couple of things I’m afraid of. One is the unlimited edits and downloads. The unlimited downloads I think is fine if they are downloading the item with the same wording (or changed to fix spelling or date changes). But having unlimited edits and downloads makes it easy for people to steal our artwork/ designs because they can buy it once, set up a website, and sell our designs by using the unlimited edits and downloads feature. Can 3 or 4 edits be the maximum allowed?
I also wonder if text is supposed to be in the design, will the customers be forced to have some text on the download, so they can’t just erase all of the text and take the entire design and upload it and sell it somewhere else?
In the faq—- https://www.zazzle.com/creators/playbook/instant+downloads+faqs Can I opt out of Instant Downloads? You have until January 12, 2023 to opt out of the one-time Digital Migration. To opt out of Instant Downloads, you can go to your Store’s Advanced Settings (Store > Setting > Advanced Settings) and unchecking the box labeled “Migrate my eligible products to be sold as an Instant Download.” After January 12, 2023 you will have the ability to manage which products you want to make available for Instant Downloads using the Products Tab of your Store Management Dashboard.
<Moderator edit: I’ve updated the quoted text above to reflect the opt-out date of January 12, 2023. The quote was taken from our docs, and they’ve been a bit slow to update. Apologies for the confusion this may have caused.>
Thanks for that. So I missed the chance to opt out completely? I don’t recall hearing about this before October 31st. Perhaps I did, because I cannot find anything under the PRODUCTS tab to manage it.
As noted above, the setting is not found in the Products tab. It’s found in the Settings tab. Go to your store, then Settings -> Advanced Settings and you should see it.
Ok, so it sounds like I could opt in everything … then once this feature is live, opt out the category posters … then opt in posters one at a time if I want to test the waters?